Upcoming Events

Rutgers Living History Society Annual Meeting has been cancelled

October 21, 2022

College Avenue Student Center 
College Avenue Campus
126 College Avenue

Brunch begins at 9:00 AM
Program begins at 10:00 AM

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. no later than October 14th
Admission is $25 per person

Svetlana Alexievich, 2022 Stephen E. Ambrose Oral History Award Recipient

alexievich svetlanaAlexievich is a Nobel Prize-winning journalist, oral historian and author. Her works include The Unwomanly Face of War: An Oral History of Women in World War II; Last Witnesses: An Oral History of the Children of World War II; Boys in Zinc: Soviet Voices from the Afghanistan War; Voices from Chernobyl: The Oral History of a Nuclear Disaster; and Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets. Born in Ukraine and raised in Belarus, she writes in Russian. Her books have been translated into fifty-two languages and published in fifty-five nations. She won the 2015 Nobel Prize for Literature "for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time," becoming the first winner for works based entirely on interviews. As she is unable to attend the event in person, Alexievich will instead deliver her acceptance speech via video.

Previous recipients of the Stephen E. Ambrose Oral History Award include Tom Brokaw, Steven Spielberg, Studs Terkel, Rick Atkinson, Ken Burns, David Isay, Elizabeth and Michael Norman, Isabel Wilkerson, Michael Beschloss, Peter Bergen, Jaqueline Dowd Hall, Ric Burns, John Whiteclay Chambers II, James Bradley, Deborah Gray White and Doug Stanton.

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to request an invitation or for more information.

Register for parking here

For information about Rutgers University COVID-19 Protocols, click here.

To view the video of the RLHS Annual Meeting 2021 and acceptance speech of Ambrose Award winner Doug Stanton:

Watch Video